A KQED radio story titled, “Farmworkers Face Sexual Harrassment,” won first place for Public Radio News Directors Inc. award in the enterprise/investigative large newsrooms category. The story was reported by J-School alum Sasha Kohka (’04,) and Grace Rubenstein, and was part of the collaboration that produced  “Rape in the Fields,” focusing on the sexual assault of migrant farmworkers in the U.S. The collaboration was lead by the Investigative Reporting Program at the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism, and the Center for Investigative Reporting.

The “Rape in the Fields” project involved the work of a number of J-School alumni including, Andrés Cediel (’04), Lauren Rosenfeld (’12), Zachary Stauffer (’08), Linsay Rousseau Burnett (’10), J.J. Barrow (’12), Daffodil Altan (’04), Rosa Ramirez (’11), Tupac Saavedra (’07), Alicia Avila (’13), four class of 2014 J-School students: Yousur Alhlou, Steve Fisher, Erica Hellerstein and Anne Hoffman and five UC Berkeley undergraduates: Alyssa Jaffer, Nadeen Jubran, Mariela Nevarez, Claire Perlman and Mariana Sosa Cordero.

“Rape in the Fields” also won the 2013 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award and the Robert F. Kennedy Grand Prize for Journalism.

In the News

Share This